The Ohio State University at Newark

Murphy Receives Teacher of the Year Award

May 5, 2020

Lucy Eldersveld Murphy, PhD, has been named 2020 Teacher of the Year by the Ohio Academy of History. The award recognizes excellence in the teaching of history. Murphy is a professor of history at The Ohio State University at Newark.

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Prof. Murphy helped to create Ohio State's American Indian Studies (AIS) Program and serves on the AIS oversight committee. In addition she helped to create the Ohio State Newark Earthworks Center and is a member of its Faculty Oversight Committee. She has received numerous awards, including: The Ohio State University Distinguished Diversity Enhancement Award, The Ohio State University College of Humanities Diversity Enhancement Award, Ohio State Newark Robert A. Barnes Award for Exemplary Teaching, and The Committee on Institutional Cooperation American Indian Studies Faculty Fellowship, Newberry Library, Chicago, among others.

Read more about our faculty accomplishments.

The Ohio State University at Newark offers an academic environment that’s inclusive of diversity, challenging but supportive with world-renowned professors and access to Ohio State’s more than 200 majors. It’s where learning comes to life. Research, study abroad and service learning opportunities prepare students for their careers in ways they never expected.